Where are all those cool pictures of ‘Transformers: The Last Knight’ filming in Michigan?

Posted: April 25, 2017 in Transformers 5
Tags:

Good question. My goal is to get them out here before the movie hits theaters in June. That doesn’t give me much time, but I’ll do my best. One of the funnest things for me is to match my filming photographs to scenes in the trailers, so I’ll try to do that too. Why are they still sitting on my hard drive? Partly because there are so so many. Partly because I’m still depressed that the movie incentives have gone from the state and the movie industry has pretty much fled to Georgia and ground to a halt here. And also I’ve been experiencing a general lack of motivation after November 8, 2016. The less said about that, the better.

In the meantime here’s a teaser. The first sign of filming last summer was this set on the backlot of the Michigan Motion Picture Studios in Pontiac. Three large tubes and a platform. Before they were painted green screen green, they were white with Chinese writing on, and they were probably recycled from Transformers 4. I was impressed that they recycle props!

Here’s my shot.

2016-07-08 022

And here’s a shot from the Chicago set of Transformers 4 in 2013.

An explosion on Damen just north of the Stevenson Expressway for filming of the movie “Transformers: Age of Extinction.” — Phil Velasquez/Chicago Tribune, Oct. 2, 2013)

chi-130823-transformers-films-in-chicago-pictu-057

Leave a Reply

